week&groove – Marrow

This week’s track is Marrow by St.Vincent. I’m unreasonably suspicious of music that’s too polished. It’s like I need to hear a bum note or cracked voice every now and then to know it’s human and not factory-made. It took St. Vincent with a flawless orchestral pop record to proof me faulty. For once in my life, I believe that Perfectio Humanum Est. The first minute of Marrow plays like this in my mind: Annie comes into her dollhouse from a Disneyèsque woodland scene. She seductively sings herself over to a mirror, then takes out some lipstick and dementedly draws irritating war paint all over her face. Don’t we love women cause they’re gorgeous and fierce?

wecangrooveresistingeating

Marrow – St.Vincent


week&groove’s mailing list is elastic. To be added, please send me your email addresses and the ones of potential groovers you may know.

Interested groovers, send “I wanna groove” to weekendgroove@zalum.net

week&groove is a weekly ritual brought to you by bruzdesign

week&groove encourages you to purchase the albums of the artists you like.

Leave a Reply

